Novel-Writing in Real Time – Parts 5 & 6 of 10: ‘Oh, the weather outside is frightful…’

Sunday, 21:16 – After a day spent getting up to dickens – at least, as much as one can when stationed behind a drum kit in a Presbyterian church – I have written about a hundred words. I am too distracted to write, but I have at least kept some heat under the story: I know how I’m going to carry on tomorrow. That’s one small achievement; the other was taking the chapter across the 6,000-word mark. In other words, I’m 60% done with ‘Rubicon Calling’. On to the next thousand – tomorrow evening (and for a reward afterwards: the first episode of the next series of Game of Thrones!)

Monday, 19:34 – Time to start work…

20:57 – And time to down tools, 1,025 words to the good. ‘Rubicon Calling’ is now 70% done, and the pace suggests that I will indeed achieve chapter’s end by the end of the month. Oh, and I got to introduce ‘Task Group SYCORAX’. Finding cool names for things is one of the perks of this job.

And now, your moment of Zen for the day:

img_3042_zps2zi5y7c1

Driver leaning out of the cab, a Stanier 4P on a local passenger service crosses the water troughs.

About Gavin

I am a 32-year-old PhD student in Aberdeen, Scotland. I work in QC at an e-learning company. I'm originally Northern Irish, though I've lived here in Aberdeen for several years. I am, essentially, somebody who is very normal, yet to whom very strange things keep happening...
This entry was posted in Fulcrumania. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

