Nothing Very Much

Hello all.

I’m afraid I don’t have very much to report, but since that’s never stopped me before, I thought you might like to see some of the stuff that’s intrigued me recently.

First of all, I’ve been listening to Aimee Mann’s ‘Bachelor No.2’ album a lot recently, particularly ‘The Fall of the World’s Own Optimist’, which looks like this:

And I noticed something which has given me pause. Is it just me, or do Aimee Mann and Janice from the Muppets look weirdly similar?

This is Aimee Mann...

...and this is Janice

Anyway, for those of you who are thrilled at the prospect of making ordinary household items rise up and do your bidding like an army of undead sporks, this video might amuse:

http://www.chilloutzone.de/files/player.swf?b=10&l=197&u=ILLUMllSOOAvIF//P_LxP92A42lCHCeeWCejXnHAS/c

Meanwhile, this Euphemism Win caught my eye:

(Kudos to the original poster on the wonderfully distracting Failblog.org)

I have also managed a significant milestone in that there is no more of the Twilight series for me to read. Can I get a hallelujah? All joking aside, Twilight features one of the most frightening literary creations ever conceived: Stephanie Meyer. I’m just pleased to get away from it. Instead I can take comfort and solace in the (many) arms of China Mieville’s new book, Kraken, which has just been released. It is a stand-alone novel, like his preceding one, The City & The City, which has just won Mieville another Arthur C. Clarke award and made him the only novelist in history to win 3 of them.

I’ll let you know how I get on with it in due course. In the meantime, here is your moment of Zen:

Peppercorn A1 'Tornado' heads out of Perdido Street Station with the Top Gear train.

About Gavin

I am a 32-year-old PhD student in Aberdeen, Scotland. I work in QC at an e-learning company. I'm originally Northern Irish, though I've lived here in Aberdeen for several years. I am, essentially, somebody who is very normal, yet to whom very strange things keep happening...
This entry was posted in Webworld. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing Very Much

  1. john says:

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a Reply

