The end of the line.

It seems the disagreement between Vicky Dillen and me has come to the end of its natural life. I reproduce for you below the two concluding emails of the exchange. I leave you to draw your own conclusions as to how accurate Ms. Dillen’s understanding of the final situation might be.

My email to her:

Hi Vicky
Again, I have taken the time to answer some of your criticisms. My response is here: https://starlingford.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/aaaand-were-back/. It strikes me, however, that we are rapidly approaching some kind of Critical Disparity Event Horizon, whereby we are both going to get so entrenched in our positions that forward movement becomes impossible and the whole thing bogs down like WWI’s Western Front.
That being said, if you think I have made some egregious criticism, by all means take me to task. But perhaps another 7,000-word email might be considered excessive? Can we not keep this pithy, if we mean to go on?
Anyway. I look forward to your thoughts.
Regards,

Gavin

And here is Ms. Dillen’s gracious reply:

Hi Gavin,

You seemed to have missed the fact that I am done with the conversation. You can accept what I have said or not. It makes no difference to me. I wrote something on a topic that you didn’t like and you don’t agree with because you like what I wrote against. You have concluded that anyone that could write like that is somehow likened to a lower subspecies who must be uneducated and who spews worthless drivel, must be arrogant to write with conviction, and that no one could possibly consider as useful. Yet you have taken weeks considering it.

When I write people are given the option to read or not–agree or not. When you write you appear to expect to be agreed with. Yet I am accused of being arrogant for writing with conviction. IN other words I write what I believe–take it or leave it. Apparently that is a sin.

I am not interested in what you have responded with and don’t plan to read it. I told you I was not interested in arguing or debating. I told you I was in the midst of a series of articles, which are much more important than worrying about someone’s focus on fantasies and myths as wonderful, which I have addressed in those articles that you don’t like. And focusing on secular things which Christians participating are called to view in a secular mindset. I simply have no interest to pursue this Gavin. And now you don’t like my line to line answer because it was too lengthy, but previously you said I hadn’t answered line by line. Whatever you think Gavin.

Please understand, everyone has an opinion and belief and if that belief is real or just an idea they have comes through in how they present themselves. Feel free to believe whatever you want. I am not condemning you Gavin, for whatever you believe… But, Don’t waste your time with me any further. I have way too much on my plate to give any more time to this.

Thank you for writing. Hope this isn’t too lengthy.;-)

Colossians 3:16-17 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. 17. And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.

Ephesians 1:17-19 That the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of him: 18. The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, and what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints, 19. And what is the exceeding greatness of his power to us-ward who believe, according to the working of his mighty power,

Vicky Dillen

Seek God

http://www.SeekGod.ca/index.htm

Discussion Forum >

http://www.SeekGod.ca/forum/

And that, I think, ends it. Which is a shame, but probably for the best, as now normal service can be resumed.

So here it is, your moment of zen:

A 57xx Pannier tank hauls a Sherman tank away from the battlefield. This is in no way a symbolic picture.

About Gavin

I am a 32-year-old PhD student in Aberdeen, Scotland. I work in QC at an e-learning company. I'm originally Northern Irish, though I've lived here in Aberdeen for several years. I am, essentially, somebody who is very normal, yet to whom very strange things keep happening...
This entry was posted in The Dillen Debate, Tyrannosaurus Lex. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The end of the line.

  1. Eruntane says:

    “You can’t fire me, because I quit!”

    Thank you both for this debate, it’s been an entertainment and possibly also an education.

Leave a Reply

