Courage

Ambrose Redmoon once said that “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear”. And Plautus said that “Courage easily finds its own eloquence”.

I thought of these when I saw Stephen Colbert’s address at the White Correspondents’ Dinner in 2006. I have never seen someone be so funny, and so courageous, at the same time. This is some of the funniest material you will ever see – but it took phenomenal nerve to deliver it. Enjoy.

Part One:

Part Two:

Part Three:

Oh, and if you haven’t already, check out the 5 parts of ‘The Race’ on XKCD this week. It’s hilarious too.

Zeninity:

GWR 14xx shunts a fruit van on the quayside

GWR 14xx shunts a fruit van on the quayside

About Gavin

I am a 32-year-old PhD student in Aberdeen, Scotland. I work in QC at an e-learning company. I'm originally Northern Irish, though I've lived here in Aberdeen for several years. I am, essentially, somebody who is very normal, yet to whom very strange things keep happening...
This entry was posted in Webworld. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Courage

  1. Eruntane says:

    So funny! “…rearranging deckchairs on the Hindenburg” – I nearly fell off my chair. How on earth did he get away with this? I’d have thought the administration would have had him quietly shot somewhere.

Leave a Reply

