Cheerfully succumbing to Nonsense Censorship!

Ladies and Gentlemen, dear readers all, I hope none of you are of a sensitive disposition. Why? Because This blog is R-Rated!

It’s true. And here is the certification:

r-blog

Why, you might be asking, am I considered to be suitable only for mature readers? Is it because I have written graphic sexual descriptions? No, because I haven’t. Is it because I have called for violence on the streets of the world’s cities? Again, no, because I haven’t. Why, then, have I earned the R rating?

Because apparently the entire Starlingford blog contains the word ‘murder’ three times, ‘death’ twice, and … wait for it … ‘limbs’ once.

Limbs! I ask you. I don’t think we’re talking dismemberment here. This sounds rather more like Victorian prudishness taken to the nth degree, you know, the type of mentality that covers table legs to prevent lascivious thoughts arising in regard to turned wood. Part of me would like to take the analysis software used to come up with this pigswill to Pompeii, strap it down in front of the walls of the Lupinarium there, and explain why that kind of imagery requires due caution. Instead, I think I’ve been caught out by the contents of Geoffrey Fox’s speech in my previous entry. And he was speaking in condemnation. Once again, computers are foiled by context.

If you, like me, are interested in taking your blood pressure for a little hike, you too can have fun with this fabulous piece of software for free here.

Today’s calming moment of Zen:

A 28xx heavy freight locomotive simmers gently in the country station on a warm summer's day.

A 28xx heavy freight locomotive simmers gently in the country station on a warm summer's day.

About Gavin

I am a 32-year-old PhD student in Aberdeen, Scotland. I work in QC at an e-learning company. I'm originally Northern Irish, though I've lived here in Aberdeen for several years. I am, essentially, somebody who is very normal, yet to whom very strange things keep happening...
This entry was posted in Webworld. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheerfully succumbing to Nonsense Censorship!

  1. Jo says:

    Oh my goodness! I got a PG rating for using the word ‘death’ five times (post about The Narnia Code in which Saturn is supposed to represent death), ‘steal’ once and ‘dick’ twice. And the context of that last one (which I had to go and look up because I couldn’t remember using the word once, let alone twice)… wait for it… I referred twice to Moby Dick.

Leave a Reply

