The Name Game

Good afternoon, dear readers.

Just a quick blog today, as I’m trying to get ready for heading home tomorrow for a week. I have to confess I haven’t spent the morning too productively in that regard: I was researching biomechanical armour systems for my novel. Now, I suppose, is as good a time as any to introduce you to that universe…

I am writing a science fiction trilogy (because that‘s never been attempted before) with the overarching title of ‘The Fulcrum War’. The first two books (‘Ghost Among Thieves’ and ‘The Passage of Daemons’, respectively) are now written. The first is about 180,000 words long; the second, 252,000. The third, upon which I am working at the minute, is going to be called ‘The Wings of the Dawn’ and will wind up being somewhere in the region of 350,000 words, I suspect. I’m having fun with it: things have just gone catastrophically badly for the good guys (yay! – it makes for more interesting writing and increased suspense) and I’m now writing the ‘aftermath’ scenes. The baddies, having been bad, are jubilent, and in a shocking move are going to increase their badness elsewhere. But the goodies aren’t quite out of it yet…

If I finish the Fulcrum War stories perhaps I will someday write the prequel trilogy. I even have names for the books. The trilogy itself would be called ‘Stargazers’: the first book is/would be ‘The Parliament of Dark’; the second, ‘All the Colours of the Night’; and the third, ‘Songs of the Nephilim’.

I like coming up with names for things (the aforementioned armour that I’ve spent the morning working on, for instence, I’ve decided to refer to as ‘Sergeant York’), so this caught my attention: http://www.nasa.gov/externalflash/name_ISS/index.html. I’d quite like to name part of the International Space Station – I shall have to go away now and think thoughts around that theme…

I really do like thinking of names for things. I have just been writing about two of the goodies’ very best ships, Technomancer-class Radiation Cruisers. These two are called ‘Minerva’ and ‘Cloister Bell’. There may be a small prize for anyone who can remind us all of the sci-fi pedigree of that latter name…!

Anyway, here it is: your moment of Zen for today.

Black 5 'The Glasgow Highlander' passes Dundrumemlagh Castle with a coal train, while on the Down line a J39 leads a freight train of 12-ton vent vans.

Black 5 'The Glasgow Highlander' passes Dundrumemlagh Castle with a coal train, while on the Down line a J39 leads a freight train of 12-ton vent vans.

About Gavin

I am a 32-year-old PhD student in Aberdeen, Scotland. I work in QC at an e-learning company. I'm originally Northern Irish, though I've lived here in Aberdeen for several years. I am, essentially, somebody who is very normal, yet to whom very strange things keep happening...
This entry was posted in Fulcrumania. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Name Game

  1. Paul Grant says:

    I know this is two months late, but doesn’t “Cloister Bell” refer to the bell on the TARDIS that sounds in emergencies?

  2. starlingford says:

    Congratulations, Paul! Yes, quite right. And thee shall have a biscuit…

Leave a Reply

